Ktorrent 3.0 – hello, KDE 4 [Update]

kde-logo-official
Ktorrent released the new version, Ktorrent 3.0. The biggest change is that it is now based on KDE 4, and with a bit of luck, Fedora 9 will be shipped with that KDE 4 version.

With Ktorrent one of the largest external KDE projects now released a first stable KDE 4 version of their product. This also shows that KDE 4 is also accepted by external developers.

Besides the obvious port to KDE 4 and the integration with KDE 4 services Ktorrent now builds with the help of cmake. Featurewise the main news are that Ktorrent is now ipv6 ready, supports SOCKS v4 and v5 and can even be bound to a specific network interface. Smaller changes and features include:

  • Added time estimation algorithm selection
  • Added option to disable data checking during uploading
  • Added possibility to open multiple torrents in one go (they will be opened silently)
  • Added option to do a data check when a torrent is finished
  • Added new missing files dialog with quit button
  • Added support for hostnames in PeerManager::addPotentialPeer
  • Use a toolbar in the search plugin instead of a widget
  • Show files which a chunk belongs to in chunks tab
  • Add alternative fileview mode (flat list)
  • Added feature to move inidividual files of a torrent

Since Fedora 9 will ship KDE 4 I will try to come up with a Ktorrent 3 package for that release. At the moment there are still some problems with Fedora’s build system but I’m confident that it will be sorted out in the end.
I could also submit a Fedora 8 update to ktorrent 3.0 since Fedora 8 comes along with the necessary kde4 base packages. And it indeed works! However, that is not really necessary and I think people who want to run KDE 4 apps should go with Fedora 9 anyway.

Update:
The Ktorrent packages are built now, everything worked out fine. They should appear in rawhide soon.If you can’t wait that long, grab them from koji.

13 thoughts on “Ktorrent 3.0 – hello, KDE 4 [Update]”

  1. Seen just a screenshot on their site – looks elegant, simple, just like ktorrent 2 🙂 And I love it!
    By the way, you’re the one responsible for the fedora ktorrent package ? I remeber I always used to compile it (this was some time ago)… than out of the blue it appeared in the repo ..

  2. I love KTorrent, and this is great news. Just one long question: Somewhere around 2.2, I couldn’t reduce the vertical size of the torrent list, and adding the information panel (one of my favourite features) took more screen realestate on top of that. What is Ktorrent 3 like in this regard?

    It makes the entire window about twice the size I used to have it, and forces me to have space for about 12 more torrents than I ever have open at once.

  3. Great stuff and good news! KTorrent is great, KDE4 in trunk gets better every day. Pleeeease keep it coming down the pipe! 🙂

  4. The libcap dependency problems should be fixed in current Rawhide already.

    > I could also submit a Fedora 8 update to ktorrent 3.0 since
    > Fedora 8 comes along with the necessary kde4 base
    > packages. And it indeed works! However, that is not really
    > necessary and I think people who want to run KDE 4 apps
    > should go with Fedora 9 anyway.

    Well, the added features could make it interesting. On the other hand, you may lose some desktop integration (e.g. with Konqueror). So it’s a tough call.

    @Daniel: Yes, liquidat is the maintainer of the Fedora ktorrent package, see: https://admin.fedoraproject.org/pkgdb/packages/name/ktorrent

  5. soap, I’ve never had that problem, but I probably never checked for it. You might ask at the ktorrent forums, the developers listen to feedback and problems. I doubt that this is a problem just with the Fedora packages.

    Kevin, thanks for pointing out, I will try to rebuild my dbus related packages then!

  6. fish, thanks for the kind words. But keep in mind that I’m just the packager, the main work is done by the great Ktorrent development team 🙂

  7. nice. Ktorrent is one of my favorite BitTorrent clients for linux. Ive tried the other clients (azureus, Bit Torrent, etc) and of all the clients ive used, ktorrent is the best

  8. “Added possibility to open multiple torrents in one go (they will be opened silently)”

    I don’t understand why this wasn’t implemented earlier. Such a basic operation. And here I am stuck with 300+ torrents to open and kTorrent 2.2.5

  9. Friends
    I have used ktorrent-2.2.7 and ktorrent-3.0.1 after installing fedora 9. Fedora KDE and gnome are totally updated. I have noticed that ktorrent version 2.2.7 is faster than ver. 3.0.1. later is quite slow always. It stops downloading torrents quite sometime.
    I am using lower ver. 2.2.7 which is very fast on my machine Intel D915GAV a P4 machine in a very good condition.

    Can any body tell me the reason? I do not know how to use RSS. Any suggestion is welcome

    With regards to all contributers
    Ratul at RatulCN@gmail.com

  10. Ratul, this is not a support forum. Also, this is an old post, and it is unlikely that everyone except me reads this.

    Anyway, there will be an update to ktorrent 3.1 in the next week if everything works out, it should contain many bug fixes.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.