Computer suspend – it is working!

kde-logo-official
After I just update my KDE to version 3.5.6 I noticed two things. Well, first of all konqueror has a nasty bug in the WordPress article creation input field (will post a bug report tomorrow), but I will survive that one. And second, and that’s the impressive part, when I close the KDE session I’m not only asked if I want to shutdown, quit or cancel – I can also suspend the machine.

I’ve never tried it on a Linux computer, and to be honest I was always a bit envious of the Windows users who could suspend their machine so easily. Well, this time I gave it a try. It needed a dozen seconds to go totally down. After that I pressed the power key again – and was back in KDE in less than a dozen seconds – without any bigger problems!
Ok, I had to restart NetworkManager manually (LAN card), and also the virtual terminals at Ctrl+Alt+F… are seriously broken, but everything else just worked, out of the box, without any manually tweaking. I’m very impressed because I wasn’t aware that it is so easy. Btw., I’m not even sure which kind of suspend that was (to disk or to ram), but that doesn’t matter to me atm.

Now I’m really excited about Fedora 7 because the plan is to improve the Laptop bits quite a lot – and Suspend is such a bit. But now my bed calls me, it is already early morning here. But maybe I will try the Suspend a second time, just for fun and to see my KDE coming back in just some seconds. 🙂

14 thoughts on “Computer suspend – it is working!”

  1. Yes, it would be quite interesting to know if it’s suspend to disk or to ram and which command is run behind the scene… klaptop really has a poor interface design (it uses a command similar to “echo 1 > /proc/…/suspend”) and the developer is really closed to suggestions. This is why Suse’s kpowersave is really better. It uses scripts to shutdown some critical services when suspending and bring them up when you resume.

    Every distro and every desktop environment have their own suspending mechanism. But I’ve heard there’s a freedesktop project about suspension, which is great news !

  2. Hm, the main suspend mechanism is kernel based, isn’t it? Therefore there might be some kernel patches or the GUI which are distribution dependent, but not the basis technology.

    But I agree that klaptop is not adequate anymore – but since kpowersave works closely together with the hal people to integrate parts of their features into the system itself I hope that we will use that possibilities soon on all distributions.

  3. Glad to hear you’ve got suspend working 🙂 Suspend to disk works on my machine, but not suspend to ram (can’t wake up).
    Did the WordPress WYSIWYG editor ever work in Konqueror for you? I’m on 3.5.5 now and it doesn’t work (tinyMCE doesn’t support it I think). If I change the browser identification to IE6 or Firefox1.5 it doesn’t work either (buttons don’t appear).

  4. It doesn’t work for me, even if I say I’m using Safari. You might want to fill a bug report just to see what the konqueror developers say. If you do so, please post the bug number here.

  5. Suspend/resume requires both a kernel part and a userland part. For instance, your whole network system (userland daemons as well as your NIC) has to know it’s being suspended in order to resume correctly (ask the DHCP server if you need a new lease, etc…).

    While speaking about wordpress itself : do you have any idea why I don’t get a mail notification when you reply to one of my comments ? Is it something I can configure ?

  6. @Yoho: thanks for the info.

    But about WordPress: I only get an e-mail when someone replies to a post. of mine, that is an option you can check in the dashboard (options -> discussion).
    But in case I comment on a foreign blog (like yours for example) I have to check by myself if there happened anything…

    Now that you mention it, there should be some option, you might suggest that with the feedback button of your wordpress blog.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.