Offline…

This blog is offline for several weeks. No articles will appear here and comments will be hold back till its online again. Thanks for everyone keeping up with me over the last months. Read you soon.

Yes, you read right: this blog will be offline for several weeks – two at least, but maybe even a whole month. I will be travelling and will not be close to any internet connection at all.
In the meantime there will be no posts, of course. And don’t bother to comment – the comment section is set to admin-approve, therefore nothing will appear here (and if there are to many comments after my return I might even delete them all without reading!).

Speaking about the meantime, here are some things which will happen while I’m away:

  • In General: At least three articles of the Commit Digest. Hopefully the same number of “Road to KDE 4” articles on the dot.
  • April 02: The KDE 4.0 subsystem freeze will occur.
  • April 02: Debian 4.0 (Etch) is supposed to have 0 RC bugs and could be released that date.
  • April 04: Mandriva 2007.1 will be released.
  • April 05: A new Feisty (Ubuntu) beta release, Herd 6.
  • April 12: Opensuse plans to come up with an Alpha 3 release.
  • April 15: Kdelibs hackathon meeting to finetune kdelibs and review Phonon and Slid API.

Well, as you see every important Linux distribution will at least release one new version or test version – except for Fedora. Their next release (the last test version) is April 26, and I plan to be back by then. Btw., in case you wonder: Rex will take care of my Fedora packages.

So, some last words: thanks everyone for reading and commenting during the last months. Of course, not everything worked out as expected (yes, I think about the two misplaced KDE articles), but that’s normal, I guess, when you run a blog for such a long time with so many articles. I hope that I learned my part and that I will be a bit more careful with my posts.
And for the statistics: these days the 300k mark will be taken. This is partly because digg sent me some 30k people – well, as usual such a sudden popularity has its advantages and disadvantages.
Anyway, it happens only a month and a few days after the 200k mark. This equals 3k readers a day… But, as I said, the digg effect came in, and with my absence for the next weeks the statistics are screwed up anyway.
By the way, because I was asked last time: the feed statistics are now rather stable for my blog, and show roughly 200 readers in average.

So, that’s it, I’m off to another continent🙂

2 thoughts on “Offline…”

  1. Sorry, but for Mandriva everything is wrong…

    1) Mandriva 2007(.0) is already out. The next release is Mandriva Linux 2007.1 or also called Mandriva Linux “Spring”. It’s an up-to-date release of Mandriva Linux 2007.0. It’s called 2007.1 because there’s no major improvement (but there are some which are listed here : http://wiki.mandriva.com/en/Releases/Mandriva/2007.1/Notes)
    2) The link you provide leads to the 2007.0 development page, not 2007.1
    3) It’s gonna be available for the public on the 4th of April (very soon) !

    You were probably in a hurry🙂 Have a good trip !

  2. @yoho: thanks for the comment, I just mixed up the years (we are in 2007 but I looked at a 2006 schedule without realising). Its corrected.

Comments are closed.