200 000

Some minutes ago the first counter digit turned to a ‘2’. I now had more that 200 000 visits. And it took me roughly three months to reach that number, which equals more than 1 000 hits a day. Impressive.
The first 100 000 took me 7 months. But I actually doubt that this acceleration will be constant😉
Btw., my first real post here on WordPress was a Gparted review, the formal announcement of the change was one post later. All other, older posts are imported from my old blog.

Some statistics: my Beryl for Fedora howto is still quite popular and got me more than 10k readers. But this time two articles about KDE, the What we will leave behind and the Dolphin story brought me more than 6k readers at a time. The VirtualBox review gave me another 5k clicks.
The best day ever had 6 375 clicks, and all overall I posted 372 articles and got 669 comments. Ah, and technorati places me on rank 61 106.
And all articles are written by me. They are not aggregated from other sources or so.

Again not all articles I considered highly interesting weren’t read by many others – a good example is the post about the Linux Wireless Summit. The only reason I got some readers on that one is that linuxtoday.com picked up the story – after I submitted it. On the other hand, I also totally failed to estimate what my Dolphin article would bring up. That was quite some noise which was made and resulted in a post by Aaron to get the people down again.

There were also changes: I started writing an introducing paragraph for each article to give the reader the possibility to quickly check if the text fits his/here interests or not. Also, I started my first article series just some days ago. It deals with the current situation of Linux software installation. We might see how long I will stick to the topic (planned are four till six articles) and if everything works out as I planned it.

And now, there are some people I want to say thanks to – these are listed in the blogroll. Thanks for your help, for your support and for your comments! Also, thanks to the guys of tuxmachines.org: their news aggregator sometimes links to some of my articles and that always brings me a set of readers. Nice🙂

Also, thanks to the readers – I mainly write this blog for myself, to have a place to express and write down my thoughts and my personal point of view. Still, it is always nice to see when some people consider the posts good enough to spread the word or discuss the topic with me.🙂

8 thoughts on “200 000”

  1. Cool man.. Im one of those 100(?) people who read your blog through feeds..Could have included feed stats as well.. Anyway keep rocking and Keep serving tux community.. !!

  2. Thanks for the comment – the feed stats are not so interesting since they vary much too much. I couldn’t even give an average value.:/

  3. @liquidat

    May be from now on feed stats may look better,because of google feedfetcher.I saw a jump of 4 times than the average feed viewers per day.I dont know when does WP gonna give stable feed stat service.

  4. Thanks for putting me in your blogroll🙂 I really discovered your blog at random, but I’m pretty amazed about it’s quality. We are not exactly supporting the same distribution, but it really doesn’t matter, I will try the next fedora and post about it, it’s easier now that I run virtualbox too🙂 Keep up the good work !

  5. Thanks for the flowers🙂
    And about the distributions: I do favour Fedora for me at the moment, but I also used Mandrake for a long time (was the only distribution running flawlessly on my Laptop when I bought it), I learned on Debian and also used Suse quite a lot. So, it shouldn’t really count😉

Comments are closed.