A second note on suspend on my machine

kde-logo-official
As I already wrote suspend now works with my machine, but I didn’t know which type of suspend it was. I now had the opportunity to test the different suspend methods and compare them.

Today I tested kpowersave and since it explicitly provides both suspend options I tried them to see which one was which – and the one I was writing about was “suspend to Ram”! Suspend to disk works as well here on this computer but takes longer.
The only disadvantage I see is that my virtual terminals on “Ctrl+Alt+F1…6” are not working at all.

Anyway, the difference between the two suspend modes is pretty obvious when you turn the computer on again: suspend to Disk restarts the computer with all the usual stuff: checking the bios, calling GRUB, etc. After that, there is a white-on-black screen showing a progress bar while a file is read in. This whole thing first looked to me like a serious problem but it worked out, the system was back in shape after all.
In contrast, suspend to Ram looks much nicer: you press the button, the screen goes black and after some seconds you hear the computer fan turning off. After pressing the power button again the computer works a bit with a still blank screen and after some seconds the screen comes back to life – presenting you your desktop. That’s much more that what I want to see🙂

Btw., my system runs on free drivers only: radeon graphic drivers, ipw2200 intel drivers (binary firmware though), etc. The only proprietary code I have atm is actually a still installed Vmware which I will eliminate these days since there is a even better and also free alternative. If you for example use proprietary drivers you could run into problems while using one of the suspend modes. But I think it is worth a try!

4 thoughts on “A second note on suspend on my machine”

  1. Actually, suspend to disk turns off your computer : no power is consummed at all. Your RAM content is dumped to the disk, then loaded when you resume.

    Suspend to RAM still needs power not to loose the bits stored in your memory (RAM is volatile).

    This is especially important for laptops : when you are running out of battery, better suspend to disk, otherwise you might loose all your data.

  2. Btw. If you run on batteries the best would be to use suspend2both.

    This allow you a fast resume, but store via suspend2disk also a snapshot of your system on the harddisk as fallback if you running out of battery.

Comments are closed.