KDE – commit digest and meeting

kde-logo-official I’m quite busy with real life, but as expected the KDE world does not stop for me (fotunately!) – there has been news about a new developer meeting which will take place in the first july week.
This meeting, called “KDE Four Core”, will focus on the the heart of KDE: kdebase, kdelibs, and a new lib “kdepimlibs” which has already been introduced here:

The module “kdepimlibs” would tentatively contain the following components:
kresources (the generic resource framework (this will be superceded by Akonadi at some point in time))
kabc (the KDE address book library)
libkcal (the KDE calendar library) akonadiserver, libakonadi (the upcoming PIM Storage Service)
libemailfunctions (the infamous attempt to create a shadow kdelibs under a most obscure name and by highly dubious motives😉
parts of libkdepim (general kdepim functionality)
libsyndication (feed handling library)
libkmime (email messages handling)
libkholidays (library for providing holiday information)
I hope that a new module “kdepimlibs” will give us a cleaner modularization of our code and make development easier and more efficient, especially in the current KDE 4 times where due to the developing nature of the framework it’s often required to compile whole modules or at least well-defined parts of it.

There is more about the reasons on the linked web page. Nice to read for everyone who wants to know what’s going on.

The news about this meeting is interesting also because it says the meeting was “limited” to 24 developers – sounds like KDE has more developers than would fit into a developer meeting?😉
I hope they will really bring forward the base of KDE 4 to a state where it actually can be compiled, used and probably also shown around to impress your friends. The community needs something they can test to cheer them up.

In related news, the newest commit digest is released, and one of the main news is KFormula will get open document support. That’s pretty interesting because the math style of open document is somewhat close to latex and really easy to write – not like the pain in the ass of MS Office formula editor. Ok, I have to admit that I’m actually now working with LaTeX, so this becomes kind of uninteresting for me, but even I have to write simple letters, and no, I do not want to write them with LaTeX😉

Besides the main topics of this commit digest there are plenty of other, interesting things:

  • digikam is under heavy development as usual – a new preview system was introduced, and if I got it right you can edit the previews embedded in the pictures much easier in the future.
  • Okular got a bookmark system to jump forth and back inside of the documents – pretty nice, and very helpful for long papers.
  • Strigi, the app I look at at the moment very carefully because I really have high hopes, got a plugin structure to load plugins for analyzing files – soon you can write your own strigi plugins (the only thing I do not like about strigi is the name – it’s just terrible, but that probably depends on my language). The web interface is also improved, but unfortunately I haven’t seen any screenshots of that yet.
  • The Google-like interface for e-mails, a google SoC project, already works, although it is described as ugly – but that should be solved soon.
  • The first oscar file transfer worked, also a google SoC project.

Looks, as usual, pretty interesting. The only thing I now need is time to test all this stuff – and I’m afraid that time will forst come around October… But anyway, it’s still fun to read about it, and see that KDE is developing. I’m really looking forward to the results of the core meeting.

5 thoughts on “KDE – commit digest and meeting”

  1. No letters in LaTeX, eh?🙂 I’d recommend looking into the KOMAscript package, which, among others, contains a very useful class called scrlttr2. You can easily put together a config file for that class and a template letter for yourself, which then will allow you to very quickly write letters.

    I once thought like you – “short things and quick letters I can do with OpenOffice and the like” — until I realized that even for that, LaTeX is more handy…

  2. Thanks for that! And, about the German yes or no: check the older postings of this blog (read: the real old ones, the first ones)😉
    => I’m German native – should not be a problem to read these papers😉

  3. Ah, yes, I see🙂 Sorry, I didn’t invest too much time researching that – the fact that you linkt to a german-speaking page was hint enough for me😉

    Vielleicht solltest du ja trotzdem mal sowas wie ein “About me” dem Blog hinzufügen (wenn die Software das zuläßt, wovon ich ausgehe, was ich aber nicht weiß) – danach habe ich nämlich erst einmal gesucht gehabt…

  4. Hm, hatte gar nicht gesehen, dass die about-page bei diesem WordPress-theme nicht angezeigt wird. Jetzt ist sie da aber, danke für den Hinweis🙂

Comments are closed.