[Howto] Bluetooth and Fedora Core 5

I have a Samsung mobile phone with blutooth, and although the data exchange of contact information is somehow broken (the phone cannot interpret the data from Kontact and the other way around) I sometimes use it to transfer pure data like music, pictures and such stuff.

The computer side has the typical broadcom chipset which can be found in several no-name bluetooth usb devices:

# hciconfig -a
hci0: Type: USB
BD Address: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx ACL MTU: 377:10 SCO MTU: 16:0
UP RUNNING PSCAN ISCAN AUTH ENCRYPT
RX bytes:101675 acl:2787 sco:0 events:7225 errors:0
TX bytes:2694524 acl:12710 sco:0 commands:169 errors:0
Features: 0xff 0xfe 0x0d 0x38 0x08 0x08 0x00 0x00
Packet type: DM1 DM3 DM5 DH1 DH3 DH5 HV1 HV2 HV3
Link policy: RSWITCH HOLD SNIFF PARK
Link mode: SLAVE ACCEPT
Name: 'perricum-0'
Class: 0x120104
Service Classes: Networking
Device Class: Computer, Desktop workstation
HCI Ver: 1.2 (0x2) HCI Rev: 0xc LMP Ver: 1.2 (0x2) LMP Subver: 0x309
Manufacturer: Broadcom Corporation (15)

To have a nice bluetooth management in KDE you need to have kde-bluetooth. This is not released as a Fedora Core 5 package (neither core nor extras) but you can get packages from kde-redhat which can be installed with no other dependencies of this repository.
For me everything worked fine as long as I was sending stuff from the phone to the computer (tested with several phones), but the way back never worked: the connection attempt failed, and a look at /var/log/messages unveiled an error messsage:

org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name org.bluez.PinAgent was not provided by any .service files

Well, since this is a error with something around D-Bus, let’s have a look at /etc/bluetooth/hcid.conf if there is something calling DBus. Here it is:

# PIN helper
#pin_helper /usr/bin/bluepin;

# D-Bus PIN helper
dbus_pin_helper;

Looking at this the solution is quite easy: change the PIN helper from the D-Bus one to the normal one, and everything works fine:

# PIN helper
pin_helper /usr/bin/bluepin;

# D-Bus PIN helper
#dbus_pin_helper;

Well, at least everything worked fine for me🙂

Nevertheless this change is a workaround and the problem is a bug, I reported it here, hopefully they will fix it soon.

And, not to forget: I’m not a bluetooth expert, I have the most information from this presentation (german only, sorry), thanks to Wilhelm Dolle🙂

2 thoughts on “[Howto] Bluetooth and Fedora Core 5”

  1. tell me exact how to configure my motorolla l6 in fedora core. I am fed up of connecting in the Xp. I do’t have a bluesoleil driver because with it my bluetooth driver says evaluation period and i got widcom with it. Does anyone know exactly the right way to connect the dial up connectio with my gprs in the fedora core 5

  2. The problem in this case is that I never tried to bring up my mobile phone as a dial up device. I know how to transfer files over Bluetooth, see above, but for using it as a modem I have no idea, sorry…

Comments are closed.