kernel update and yum plugins

I just entered a yum update into the commandline to see if there are updates available (I know that there are guis for that, but I prefer the command line, thanks) and got very surprised by the output:

Installing:
kernel i686 2.6.16-1.2096_FC5 updates 13 M
kernel-devel i686 2.6.16-1.2096_FC5 updates 4.7 M
Updating:
firefox i386 1.5.0.2-1.2.fc5 updates 17 M
gdm i386 1:2.14.1-1.fc5.2 updates 3.6 M
gnupg i386 1.4.3-2 updates 1.8 M
jwhois i386 3.2.3-3.3.fc5.1 updates 95 k
m2crypto i386 0.15-3.2.fc5.1 updates 447 k
Removing:
kernel i686 2.6.16-1.2069_FC5 installed 34 M
kernel i686 2.6.15-1.2054_FC5 installed 34 M

Read again: Removing:
I never saw this before – the rpm system works in a way that allows different versions of the kernel package (or any package you name at the appropriate place) and so normally you get quite a lot of kernel versions during the years running a rpm system. Normally you have to remove them by your own.
I thought a bit about that, and got an idea: that could be caused by yum, or more detailed: by yum plugins. And right, when I called yum –noplugins update which deactivates all yum plugins there was no package listed as to be removed.

This is a very, very good example for me how powerfull yum has become, and how much more power it can probably gain in the future due to the plugin structure.
Also I have to admit that I am not really aware of the possibilities and limits of the yum plugin structure this plugin shows that there are quite a lot of interesting possiblities even for intelligent reacting of special situations and packages – it looks to me that there is quite a lot of space to fill by plugins until the plugin structure really reaches it's limits. Any cool ideas?😉

In the meantime one of my bugs, which was a wish for a kind of metadata package for exchanging yum repo information, was closed as a wontfix. Although that is a little bit disappointing the last comment is pretty interesting:

We're working towards adding some functionality like this into the graphical tools built around yum. It's not going to be something in base yum.

That sounds pretty interesting and gives me new hope although we probably do not see anything real until FC7. But hey, at least they didn't close it as a wontfix-at-all🙂