Problems in Paradise

Although I really like KDE, and really like to work with it and especially work with Konqueror, I have some not-so-nice problems at the moment, and I am not sure where they came from:
Whenever I open some web-pages with konqueror, for example some wikipedia pages, the konqueror is blocked until it finished loading of the webpage. That’s very annoying as you can imagine.

But even more annoying is the fact that everything runs like a smooth in a virtual machine with Fedora Core 4 and KDE 3.5 from kde-redhat.org. And that’s almost exactly the system I left behind🙂

I am not very sure what the root for this behaviour is – it could be that the ati graphic drivers are in parts responsible for this behaviour because they are responsible for some problems in this area, too. Or, to be more exactly: they influence other problems, too, so I am not sure what is going here.
But that’s one more reason for me why we need open source drivers🙂

Anyway, I will try now to copy all configuration data (except kmail) to the system in the virtual machine to see if it’s “only” a problem of the configuration – the next step would be the graphic drivers.
If that doesn’t change, the last step would be a step back to Fedora because I can’t really work in this situation:-/

But anyway, that’s the advantage of free software: I can change whenever and whereever I am. And that’s the advantage of my backup system: even if I will format my whole system, it will take only minutes after install the base new one, to get all my old configurations back!
But at the moment I am still running Suse, and I just hope that I am able to solve the problem on this platform – I wanted to use it for a longer time and not only the first few months🙂

2 thoughts on “Problems in Paradise”

  1. this blocking of the UI is why i hope for KDE 4 we will see all apps use separate threads for gui and for the ‘work’ behind it… no more blocking and less crashes, too😀

  2. Hm, do oyu have more information about this? I’m not really into this things and want to change this😉

    Anyway, I must say that I don’t have the problems working with the konqueror in my virtual machine – but I don’t know why yet…

    liquidat–>

Comments are closed.