smart and its apt repositories

After I realized that some of the apt repositories are broken (for example, try to get a package from the base repository) I reconfigured smart a little bit to use the yum repositories instead of apt where it is possible.

So now I have activated yum repos for base, java and extras. It’s a pity that the yum repositories for packman are still broken, and that no one responds to any mail I’ve send them:-/

Besides these changes I added several other repositories I found at gwdg.de – I have the feeling that they are quite new, some other mirrors haven’t them. The new ones are mainly some projects from suse-supplementary: openoffice, samba, gnome, kde-stable and mozilla.

I will update the channel list and the mirror list I’ve linked here. I think it is much better now because you can add some base files, too – that was impossible for me in the last days because the apt repository was broken.
So another reason why everyone should move to yum repositories – and that suse itself should start spreading mirrors.list files on their servers🙂

2 thoughts on “smart and its apt repositories”

  1. As previously mentioned, the channels and mirrors I use are defined in these text files – you can easily integrate them with smart:
    http://www.personal.uni-jena.de/~p1woro/SUSE-smart-examples/mirrors.txt

    http://www.personal.uni-jena.de/~p1woro/SUSE-smart-examples/channels.txt

    If your smart always tries to check another mirror which is not sychronized at the moment you have to delete your mirror cache with smart mirror –clear-history.

    Regards,

    liquidat

Comments are closed.