[Howto] Set up smartpm on SUSE LINUX 10.0

Here is a small tutorial how to set up Smart Package Manager, smart or smartpm in short, on SUSE LINUX 10.0.

I will not only show where you have to download what, but also how to import channels and mirrors (which is the most important thing!).

Background

After having fun with setting up a SUSE LINUX system with Fedora Core’s yum (yes, I know, it was originally invented to improve yellowdog’s update system, but its better known from Fedora Core…) I thought about how to solve the problem about the missing update channels.

I knew that apt provided some update channel information, but for obvious reasons (no mirror system is the first and main reason) I didn’t wanted to choose apt as a solution.

Then I read loki’s (aka guru) call for testers of smartpm, and I decided to give it another try.

The advantage of smartpm is, that, besides the ability to use mirrors it is able to use different repository structures. So I was able to use the apt-repository structure which provides more channels then the actual yum structure (I hope they will fix the problem around yum, I do not really like the apt structure, sorry), and so I was able to build up a package management with update channels which is capable of using and choosing mirrors in a similar way as yum is.

Another nice feature is that smart has a nice gui as well as a nice command line. Ok, the gui needs a lot of improvement, but at the moment it’s maybe to early to start asking for usability🙂

So let’s give it a try:

What to do

First you have to get the smart packages for SUSE 10.0. You can download them here from guru’s repository.
Download and install it.

Set it up

The problem is: smart has no (!) text files to configure, you must do this all by hand, but that’s not a problem.
So: loki did a nice job preconfiguring smart, but at least from my point of view he stopped in the middle of the way.

We will add some other channels and a bunch of mirrors to be sure that our system will run nice and smooth.

smart channel --add http://www.personal.uni-jena.de/~p1woro/SUSE-smart-examples/channels.txt
will add the most common used channels like java, update, packman-i686, extras, usr-local-bin, etc.
But be a little bit careful, there are some beta things included, so you maybe want to uncheck the channels suse-100-apt-kde-unstable, suse-100-apt-usr-local-bin and suse-100-apt-suse-projects! You can do this task with the gui: smart --gui brings it up.

The next step is to import the mirrors which are the reason why we do all this stuff:
smart mirror --add http://www.personal.uni-jena.de/~p1woro/SUSE-smart-examples/mirrors.txt
After this your system is fully set and ready to use.

Play and report

Start the gui with smart --gui, play around, and report bugs to the tracker.

A last call from me: please, if you see other mirrors, report them to me or in some of the suse mirrors – I will add them to the config list when I find them.

And now: have fun with SUSE LINUX 10.0 and smartpm!🙂

This text is published under GFDL 1.2

15 thoughts on “[Howto] Set up smartpm on SUSE LINUX 10.0”

  1. Dear, watch out the formatting of the post, you have some “weirdos” info showing there😉

    plz let me know if it’s a problem for you that my translation of this guide in italian

  2. Point out the wrong formatting, and I will correct it – except the url’s, I haven’t find any way to do this according to the design template of this blog:-/

    And about translations: sure, you are welcome! But even I wouldn’t like it: the text is under the GFDL, so you can do anything with it as long as it is according to the licence.

  3. here:

    you maybe want to uncheck the channels suse-100-apt-kde-unstable,

    style=”font-style:italic”>suse-100-apt-usr-local-bin and style=”font-style:italic”>suse-100-apt-suse-projects! You can do this task with the gui: smart –gui brings it up.

  4. So,
    today i’ve done a quick translation of your post … I’ve added it on my personal italian blog [http://www.koolinus.net] and I’ve submitted it for approval to an italian SuSE users portal [http://www.suseitalia.org].

    If I get any advice or anything to make it better I’ll keep you informed.

    From me, I just can’t wait to be @home to play on my SuSE laptop

    Thanks again

  5. I used your channel and mirror configuration and when I start smart –gui, the cache updates and stops at 99%. I’m no able to use it. Can you help explain what I need to do? Thanks. Mark

  6. Read the newer articles – its a bug in the smart system, they can’t really handle yum repositories in a good way.

    I changed the configuration to a apt-repository-only configurartion, and now use smart for updates and yum for installing new software from channels like base, java, gm or packman.

    liquidat

  7. That’s easy:
    It will use your proxy variables – if you haven’t set them, start smart with the proxy-option:

    smart config –set http-proxy=http://my.proxy:3128

  8. I’m also having a problem with smart behind a proxy, and it has nothing to do with the choice of distro. It’s simply a dead end in smart configuration as far as I can tell.

    Your example shows a proxy url, but unfortunately that isnt’t enough, as all the proxies I know of require user authentication. I’ve set the proxy url, anv verified that it’s in the smart config, but smart never prompts me for a password. Niether can I find any hint of where to configure the proxy login/password settings.

  9. As I already said: I normally use yum, and even when I wrote this article I never used smart with a proxy.

    However I looked around a bit and found this solution:
    export http_proxy="http://username:password@servername:port/"
    For this you probably also need the package python-curl.

    Try it.

Comments are closed.