Fedora 7 – My Personal Bugfest [2. Update]

fedora-logo-bubble
Fedora 7 is to be released in these hours. I already got a copy of the last RC and have been bug hunting since then. And I gathered quite some over the last days, unfortunately, but most are simply due to new, not yet tested application features.

The Fedora 7 release was supposed to come along with a new feature I personally really could use: extended authentication support in NetworkManager.

So after the features were added and Fedora packaged a beta version I got my copy and tried to get the network working.
However, it didn’t work: the wpa_supplicant has serious problems and even crashes. As long as that problem is not sorted out I’m afraid I can’t use my universities network.
But since I was already at my universities computer lab I tried to get at least the VPN working – and failed as well: the client configuration file for Cisco routers doesn’t work for NetworkManager – and has some minor file association problems, btw.

Unfortunately Fedora 7 has some other issues as well on my computer – suspend/resume is not working anymore for me, I get a kernel panic. And KDE is no longer able to remember which applications have been started in the last session.

Anyway, since I was already working at it I also filled three other bug reports not exactly related to the release of Fedora 7, but also valid bug reports/wishes: one was against Fedora in general to add the necessary config options to xorg.conf in case of loading synaptics drivers, one was to update a certain package to the newest version and the last one was about adding the (atm not working) extended authentication support to knetworkmanager.

Hm, all over all I must admit that I’m a bit disappointed that enterprise network things on Linux are still not in a really usable shape, and I really do hope that things improve massively with the release of NetworkManager 0.7…

Update
Ok, at least the KDE bug is resolved – deadbabylon hinted me to check my session manager configuration. And well, I could have sworn that it was set correctly – but it wasn’t. :(

2. Update
Today I received a new version of wpa_supplicant which fixed the above mentioned bug. Now I’m finally able to use the wpa_supplicant and also the NetworkManager on the WLAN of the university (WPA/TKIP/TTLS). If the other bugs will be solved over time I will not mention them in further updates but will write new articles. So in case you wonder about the state of the other bugs (like the suspend/resume) simply search this blog for newer information.

22 thoughts on “Fedora 7 – My Personal Bugfest [2. Update]

  1. Hm, I’m not sure if it is so much cutting edge – most of my problems resulted from additional features which were not available at all before (the entire network stuff), and only the kernel regression and the KDE problem are really annoying.

    In that case, however, I’m afraid that there was not enough testing inside of Fedora/Red Hat…

  2. Not to mention all of the pre-existing features that are no longer working…..

    Anyone try to install it on a machine with RAID and/or LVM? It’s not pretty.

  3. I too though FC7 was buggy. Tried it on a test server which was a 2 year old Asus MB and dual core 939 pin AMD Athlon. Monitor was a generic 1024×768 flatscreen. I spent several hours trying to get it to work in 1024×768 mode and failed. Best I could do was 800×600. It wouldn’t take my setting and save them and kept switching to video modes beyond 1024×768.

    Also had to kill the graphic boot or I had no cursor when it finally came up.

    One of my tests of a new fedora release is does it work good enough to install it and have it just boot up correctly. In my opinion FC7 failed. Definitely a hold out for a while upgrade.

  4. “And KDE is no longer able to remember which applications have been started in the last session.”

    This is ridiculous. If this is true, then it’s clear that Fedora simply isn’t testing significantly AT ALL. Because a bug like this would be instantly noticeable by somebody.

    The distros are KILLING Linux with their lack of QA and their penchant for releasing, as the review says, “new, untested features.” This MIGHT be acceptable for a cutting edge techie distro like Fedora, but you see the same nonsense in supposedly “consumer-oriented” distros like Ubuntu/Kubuntu.

    It’s going to hurt Linux in the long run if this keeps up.

  5. I’ve just gotten through the f7 install. There were problems with the network installation. I had to copy the dvd iso image onto the local drive of the machine to get it to go. As much as I’d like to hammer on the Fedora team for not testing, I didn’t try test 1, test 2, test 3, or test 4. So I shouldn’t bitch too much. I filled out bug reports, but I should have done that three months ago. Anyway – fedora removing the extras/core thing is nice. All the “illegal” stuff is already in the usual places. It certainly is easier to restage a fedora box than the XP ones. (don’t need a pile of disks and key codes).

  6. So far I had no problems running F7, installed it on my laptop 1 week ago with:
    – network (wireless and wired) working out of the box
    – graphics (nv) working out of the box
    – suspend to disk working out of the box
    – and certainly lvm working (set up during install)
    Used this systems quite frequently in the meantime and no problems so far…

  7. I installed Debian from a Koppix recovery CD while rebuilding a machine recently. What a pleasant experience. I installed a minimal configuration and updated using apt to add the packages I wanted. I won’t go back to FC.

  8. The lack of quality assurance in Fedora Core 1 made me erase it and install Slackware four years ago, not only for myself but for all my family, friends and acquaintances. I have never looked back and from what I read here it will probably never be worth it anymore.

    I have even ported Slackware to little-endian MIPS (Loongson) because I know it will be rock-solid stable and pretty much bugfree when installed. I am also getting requests to erase SUSE because of its bugginess. Ubuntu/Kubuntu has fewer bugs but there still are many left.

  9. Psychicist, you chose the wrong distribution in the first place then. Fedora releases aren’t aimed at being perfectly bug-free. Fedora releases are aimed to be bleeding-edge and showing innovation. If you want a more stable but similar distribution, you better go for RHEL or CentOS.

    Other stable distributions are of course Debian or Slackware. But they are very conservative too.

    The next time you choose a OS, first think about what you need and what is a no-go. There are multiple criterias about this. Some examples:
    – Does it need to be very stable?
    – Do I need longterm support (incl. security fixes)?
    – Do I need longterm binary compatibility?
    – Do I want bleeding-edge and innovative stuff?
    – Do I want to pay for it?
    – Should it be open?
    – Is it a desktop, a workstation , a server or something else (e.g. handheld)?
    – What software must be included/installable?
    – What hardware must be supported?
    – Do I need special security?

    After defining this and maybe more criterias, you can choose the right OS for you. Every OS and every distribution has it’s own strengths and weaknesses.

    If you obey this instructions, I’m sure you will be happy with the system you choose and there will be no reason to erase-and-setup-another-distro.

    IMHO. That’s also what I told the people asking me on the Fedora booth at LinuxTag 2007 in Berlin. And so did many other booths AFAIK.

  10. I performed a fedora 7 upgrade.

    I did have some problems with Fedora 7, like my gnome wouldn’t start up with my profile, after removing the default profile directories, and reconfiguring I was able to do so.

    The yumex no longer worked. It would just crash. I uninstalled and reinstalled this fixed the problem

    The system broke vlc on me, but again after following the advise on the internet I was able to fix it.

    I ensured to put this only on my testing machine, funny though this is the machine I use the most. My other machine is still running Fedora 6, and will stay that way until I use my existing system more and more is revealed about bugs.

    I do have to say that I am really pleased with Fedora 7, but like the rest of you I don’t run an vpn, I know when I used to have to use vpn, I had to get the software from Cisco. BTW Cisco wouldn’t release to anyone who wasn’t the registered user of the VPN device.

    My lesson learned is to never install an OS on all systems, but only a testing one. This way I can use the other ones to troubleshoot this one.

  11. Installed Fedora_7 on three different systems over and weekend and used it through Monday. Everything worked fine, even recognizing my new printer and monitor (still don’t know how on the printer, but there it was). The interactive install took about 20 min., and that’s with formatting two big 300+Gb HDs. KDE was flaky for me, but I like Gnome, so I went back to it, and so far it’s been a breeze.

  12. I have done the “upgrade” on three machines. Two Dell and one hp. On all three the “upgrade” had problems. On HP it never wrote the grub config to disk so had to do it manually. On one Dell it simply crashed in the middle of performing the initial software analysis and on the second Dell it got nearly all the way through then crashed. I am now trying a re-install on this machine and hope that works.

    I have never had an “upgrade” go without problems on any machine from any release to any other release.

    Anaconda does not do upgrades for beans.

  13. @Chris: this is really strange because I didn’t have such problems by using Anaconda, and I have a simple no-name laptop. Sad to hear that it went so badly…

  14. I’ve upgraded two systems, a x86 and an x86_64 and have the same problem on both, gdmgreeter is seg faulting, so no login prompt is ever displayed.

    Frustrating as anything, and I’ve no idea how to get out of this mode without disabling gdm.

    Gee guys, I wouldn’t want to be able to login to a system after upgrading or anything fancy like that.

  15. A workaround would be to use kdm instead of gdm for a while – in the meantime file a bug report and provide the necessary information, chance is that that is fixed quickly.

  16. GDM greeter crashes pretty regular when running two Xdestop sessions. It can automatically start stuffing in keystrokes until the whole system chokes. Have to telnet into to shut it down to get the keyboard back. I like Gnome when it works. It is the works part that doesn’t. Running Anthlon 64, Nvidia, Fedora 7.

    I do not recall this issue in FC6.

  17. I installed Fedora 7 on my IBM T-30 laptop and it installed without any problems except for one thing: Gnome Pilot no longer syncs my Palm Treo 680, which it did in Fedora Core 6. I am not sure why this is the case, as I have posted this situation on other sites, with various individuals having various degrees of success. I don’t know if this is a bug or what. I have since erased Fedora 7 from my laptop and put Fedora Core 6 back on because being able to sync from my Treo is an absolute must.

  18. About such problems: even if you go back to older Fedora versions, please don’t forget to fill a bug report – sometimes the developers/package maintainers do not see bugs because of different setups or something and simply need someone else to point them out!

  19. i have installed fedora 7in my laptop along with windows XP….when i log on to my user account,then there are no icons on the desktop……also when i try to shut down from my account in fedora……it shows all the shutting down progress but halts in the end with message” SYSTEM HALTED” and does not shut down

  20. Akhil, Fedora 7 is not even supported anymore, please try at least Fedora 8.
    Also this is a blog, not a support forum, please refer to a appropriate forum.

Comments are closed.